Radius: Off
km Set radius for geolocation

2017-18 WorldSafe Award Winners Announced

2017-18 WorldSafe Award Winners Announced

The SafeAmerica Foundation is thrilled to announce the 2017-18 WorldSafe Award winners for their commitment to safety in the global world.  Their efforts have had major impacts on safety in the community, nation and abroad.  The awards and certificates of accomplishments were announced at the WorldSafe Awards gala held on October 26, 2017 at WSB-TV studios in midtown Atlanta.


Grand Prize Award                   Lt. General Russel Honoré, Natalie Lacey, Cliff OxfordFor assisting Puerto Rican citizens’financial recovery after Hurricane Maria

Public Health Award                The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; For fighting the Opioid Epidemic                             

Human CARE Award                youthSpark; For reducing human trafficking demand   

Environmental Award              Coca-Cola; For the bio-degradable Dasani PlantBottle 

Research Award                          National Center for Disaster Preparedness/Columbia    University’s Earth Institute; For evaluating communities’ childcare capabilities during disasters

Public Safety Award                  Atlanta Fire Rescue Department; For the heroic response to the I-85 bridge collapse

Safety Education Award          AT&T; For the ‘It Can Wait’ program to reduce distracted driving

Innovation Award                     Thérèse Izzy Kirongozi; For creating a Traffic Robot to improve safety

Civic Leadership Award         Rotary Club of Buckhead, For fighting human trafficking

Youth Safety Award                 N. Clayton High School, For developing a school bus safety app

Humanitarian Award              Lister and Holt Law Firm, For safeguarding women’s lives

Eddie Turner Veterans Award       Commander Leon Booker; For his service to veterans

Disaster Recovery Award       Operation HOPE; For creating the Economic Financial Recovery concept

Infrastructure Advancement             CSX; For its commitment to the future of rail safety

Volunteer of the Year             Steven L. Blue, Miller Ingenuity, For his creating the ‘WorldSafe Summit’


Certificates of Accomplishment:

American Red Cross                  For collaboration with VETLANTA to assist Veterans


Netherlands Aerospace Ctr     For development of the Circular Runway concept


Disaster News Network            For sharing vital information, during and after disasters


Casey Feldman Foundation     For educating thousands about the dangers of distracted driving


Dr. Glenn Farrar                         For teaching concepts of Disaster Readiness to church congregations


PwC                                              For the creation of the ‘Game of Threats’ to improve cybersecurity


Maryland Transit Authority (MTA)          For its investment toward improved Rail Transport Safety